Board and Staff

The Sierra Fund is powered by a high level team of Directors and staff who are dedicated to protecting and preserving the Sierra. Our Emeritus Board Members continue to be key advisors to all our work.

Jump to:

Board of Directors
Emeritus Board

Board of Directors

Adrienne AlvordAdrienne Alvord, Board Chair - Adrienne Alvord is the Union of Concerned Scientists’ California and Western States Director, based in Berkeley, California. Ms. Alvord is leading UCS’s effort to ensure robust implementation of the California Global Warming Solutions Act, California’s landmark climate law known as “AB 32.” more here
Richard GordonCalifornia State Assemblymember (Retired) Rich Gordon, Vice-Chair - Rich Gordon has spent his life in service to others. First as a minister in the United Methodist Church and later in the nonprofit sector he worked with young people and families. He would eventually spend twenty-four years in elected more here
Alison Harvey, SecretaryAlison Harvey, Board Secretary - Alison Harvey, Board Secretary, is the Director of Governmental Affairs for the United Auburn Indian Community, a federally recognized California tribe comprised of Maidu and Miwok Indians based in the Sierra Nevada foothills in Auburn. more here
Gary ParsonsGary Parsons, Board Treasurer - Gary Parsons is a San Juan Ridge-based general building contractor living and working on the Ridge since 1989. He received his B.S. in Environmental Design from the University of California, Davis in 1988. more here
Timothy Seward, Board MemberTimothy Seward, Board Member - Tim Seward, Board Chair, is a partner with the law firm of Hobbs, Straus, Dean & Walker, LLP, in the firm’s Sacramento, California office. Hobbs Straus is a national law firm founded to represent and advance the interests of Indian and Alaska Native tribes and their people. more here
Robert MeacherRobert Meacher, Board Member - Robert Meacher brings considerable expertise on water issues to the Board of The Sierra Fund. Bob served as 2nd District Plumas County Supervisor for five terms, from 1992-2012. During his tenure on the Board he served on numerous committees including... more here
Martha LennihanMartha Lennihan, Board Member - Martha Lennihan brings water expertise to TSF, in addition to the passion for the Sierra Nevada she shares with other Board members. Martha started her career as a biologist, first in Colorado then in California. She worked for the Department of Fish and Game (now Wildlife) and the California Coastal Commission. Martha’s second career was the practice of water law, for 34 more here

click here to go back to top


For staff contact information, click here.

Elizabeth MartinElizabeth "Izzy" Martin, CEO, is a community organizer and environmental advocate with over forty years of experience working in rural communities to promote economic and environmental justice. She has worked with a wide diversity of constituencies, from Tribal leaders to miners and from farmers to more here
Carrie MonohanCarrie Monohan, Ph.D., Program Director, earned her Ph.D. in Forest Resources and Hydrology in 2004 from the University of Washington. Her dissertation work addressed the relationship between water quality in agricultural streams and diminishing salmon habitat. She has been the Science Director at The Sierra Fund since more here
Alex Keeble-TollAlex Keeble-Toll, Administrative Director, was born and raised in Nevada City and joined The Sierra Fund’s staff in January 2015. Alex has a BA in sociology, magna cum laude, from UCLA and received her first graduate degree in 2006 (MA, Sociology, CSU, Sacramento). Alex completed a third graduate degree in 2016 (M.Sc., Environmental Science, CSU, Chico) more
Laura CarrollLaura Carroll, Development Manager, was raised in Nevada County, which instilled in her a sense of belonging among the tall trees and large granite slabs that cover the Sierra Nevada landscape. Laura went on to pursue her education at Humboldt State University where she graduated with a degree in Ecological more here
Greg ThrushGreg Thrush, Environmental Justice Community Organizer, spent summers as a child in the Sierra foothills staying with his grandparents. He remembers going with them on long four-wheel-drive adventures that ultimately ended at a river. Greg was reintroduced to the Sierra Nevada as a young man and fell in love with the mountains and rivers all over more here
Nick GrahamNick Graham, Environmental Scientist, completed his graduate degree in 2017 (M.S., Hydrology and Hydrogeology) from California State University, Chico. His thesis research investigated the effect of metal-based coagulants on the sedimentation of fine grain materials as part of the Nevada Irrigation District’s Combie Reservoir Sediment and Mercury Removal more here
Beth BordnerBeth Bordner, Financial Associate, moved to Nevada County in 2014 from the Seattle area where she spent 20 years living on a small, ferry-only accessed island surrounded by the natural beauty of Puget Sound and the majesty of Mount Rainier. Her experience in non-profit environmental conservation comes more here

click here to go back to top

Emeritus Board

Patty Brissenden

Janet Cohen

Martha Davis

Esther Feldman

Sarah Forslund (in memorium)

Greg Francis

Michael Funk

Shawn Garvey

John Hellwig

Michael Killigrew (in memorium)

John Laird

Dr. Gerald Meral

Rob Moser

Bill Newsom (in memorium)

Drummond Pike

John Regan

Dr. Lisa Thompson

David Welch

click here to go back to top