TSF CEO Izzy Martin receives James Irvine Foundation Leadership Award

On Wednesday February 18, The Sierra Fund CEO Elizabeth “Izzy” Martin was honored to be presented with one of the James Irvine Foundation’s 2016 Leadership Awards for her efforts to protect the Sierra Nevada region and one of California’s most precious resources – water.

Assemblymember Brian Dahle presenting TSF CEO Elizabeth Martin with her 2016 Irvine Foundation Leadership Award

This prestigious award is made in recognition of individuals who are advancing innovative and effective solutions to significant issues in California. Izzy was one of five awardees this year, and one of the few individuals working on water quality issues to have ever received the award.

Assemblymember Brian Dahle (1st District) presented the award to Martin as part of the ceremony held at the Sheraton Grand Hotel in downtown Sacramento.

Other speakers at the award ceremony included: Don Howard, President and CEO, The James Irvine Foundation; Nancy McFadden, Executive Secretary to California Governor Jerry Brown; California Secretary of State Alex Padilla; California State Senator Bob Hertzberg (18th District); California Assemblymember Kristin Olsen (12th District); and California Assemblymember Rob Bonta (18th District).

“I am deeply honored,” said Martin, “and know that this award recognizes not only my own leadership but the strength and effectiveness of The Sierra Fund’s board, staff and supporters who have made our incredible progress possible over the last 15 years.”

The award recipients were also honored during the Floor Session of the California State Senate, where Senator Fran Pavley spoke about Martin’s leadership.

In addition to Martin, the other recipients of the 2016 Irvine Leadership Awards are:  Lenore Anderson, Californians for Safety and Justice (Oakland); Dr. Dean Schillinger, San Francisco General Hospital/UCSF Center for Vulnerable Populations (San Francisco); Kate Sofis and Todd Rufo, SFMade/San Francisco Office of Economic and Workforce Development (San Francisco); and Peter Weber, Fresno Bridge Academy (Fresno).

2016 James Irvine Foundation Leadership Award recipients and foundation CEO Don Howard (center)